Hello debt, update


I know I haven’t done a post in a while.

My apologies.

Just struggling with a bit of writers block really. The large blank white space of the new post screen mocks me with its emptiness.

So just to get back into the groove of things a quick post to update on the debt.

Least debt ever!

As you can see there was a small downturn of Net Worth about a month ago. This was due to the week long spending spree when Girl B was around. But I’ve recovered from that small hiccup and have reached a minor milestone. As of the 24th of May 2012, I am now at the lowest point of my debt since I started maintaining these records.

Currently my debt stands at $15,572.25.

The least debt I’ve ever had previously was on the 12th of April of this year ($16,376.47 worth of debt), followed by 27th of October 2011 ($16,397.94 worth of debt), and the last time before that I was even close to this figure was waaaaaaay back on the 11th of November 2010 ($16,535.97 worth of debt).

And from the graph you can see every time I’ve approached this figure I’ve had some sort of downturn. But after each occasion the down turn has been a little less drastic. The first instance on the 9th of December 2010, was due to my move from Queensland to Canberra. I had no savings whatsoever to speak of and maxed used my credit cards to fund my interstate migration, dates with the 19 year old (yes I went out with a 19 year old, don’t judge me. I realise it was a mistake. Actually wait, no judge me all you want. It’s much deserved :P) and also for used the cards for a couple of weeks when I was jobless.

The second downturn on the 24th of November 2011, was due to the break up with the 19 year old, and the expenses incurred during the move from living together to finding my own place. Now while I didn’t use my card, I did draw deeply from a pool of savings (which is included in the formula to calculate net worth). That move pretty much wiped those funds completely.

And you know what happened last month. πŸ˜›

In other news, remember when I spoke about that promotion opportunity I wasn’t quite sure whether or not to go for? Well I did submit an application for it, and I’ve got an interview this Friday.

Wish me luck.

16 responses to “Hello debt, update

  1. Good luck! And good job with the debt, keep at it!

  2. Congrats on the new milestone and best of luck!!

  3. Good luck! Hope you get it!

  4. yeah you, the only way is up!!

  5. best of luck to you my friend! and great news on the debt – the graph is trending up and up, and that’s what matters!

    • Thanks buddy! What we really need to do is come up with some sort of quick money making scheme here in Canberra… youre the smart one! (and yes by default that makes me the pretty one) Think of something that will blow the cerebellum off all other Canberrans!

  6. Good luck with the interview Captain.

    I don’t think you will suffer a fall back this time. I think your net worth will increase even further.

Leave a Reply

