Hello post-long distance relationship travel update: All I got was another $1000 in debt and some chafing.


So where have I been the past week?

Well I was attempting to build a physical connection on the long distance relationship.

Eight days of dinners, lunches, outings and mind-blowing sex.

But in the end it was decided that the distance just didn’t make the whole relationship feasible.

Sucky.

So how did the spend for those eight days break down?

– Air fares $600

– Car Hire $220

– Day 1 Dinner & Drinks – $180

– Day 2 All day in the bedroom (boom chicka wah wah)

– Day 3 Pizza & Drinks Β – $100

– Day 4 Lunch – $0 (she paid)

– Day 5Β All day in the bedroom (boom chicka wah wah)

– Day 6Β All day in the bedroom (boom chicka wah wah)

– Day 7 Lunch – $180

– Day 8 Lunch + Ice Cream $0 (she paid)

So a total of $1280 spent on the 7 days. About $120 shy of the $1400 minimum I set, so pretty good. Considering that $1400 target was for 5 days rather than 8.

Lesson learnt?

Well actually 2 lessons were learnt during this whole experience.

#1 If you wanna save money whilst in a long distance relationship, when you meet up, have lots of sex. It’s free and everyone is guaranteed to have a good time πŸ˜‰

and #2 Don’t do long distance relationships.

I am Jack’s inflamed sense of rejection… (brownie points to those who can name the movie and suggest other awesome break-up flicks… for dudes… none of this whiny chick flick crap)

21 responses to “Hello post-long distance relationship travel update: All I got was another $1000 in debt and some chafing.

  1. I have to ask, what did you have for lunch on Day 7?

    • Entree
      – Pork Jowl Terrine, pickled beetroot, spring onion, blasamic gel
      – Smoked Atlantic Scallops, chorizo, cauliflower, chilli oil
      Main
      – Crisp skin pork belly, cumin steamed eggplant, coriander, chilli, sesame, green mango chutney
      – Ricotta and potato gnocchi, punmpkin pesto, Persian fetta, onion puree, confit tomatoes
      Dessert
      – Bittersweet chocolate; ganache tart, ice cream mousse crumbs and 1 glass of Pennyweight La Serena Oloroso
      – Pecan caremel creme, black berries, meringue and 1 cup of white Belgium Hot Chocolate

      And 1 bottle of 2008 Boggy Creek Sangiovese

  2. Dude! I was rooting for you all the way! But at the very least there should have been ‘Boom chickah wah wah’ on Day 1. This was a long distance thing, the passion should have been enough to start a bushfire! (excuse the pun, ahem).

    Also, keeping tabs of the cost?? I bet you read the bloomin’ receipts out after every activity and punched the air when you realised ‘boom chickah wah wah’ was free? My sympathy points are dwindling at this point :/ πŸ™‚

    My nickname given by one of my best friends is ‘Tyler Durden’, so I had better be right and the movie had better be Fight Club. To also quote from the book

    “This is your life and its ending one moment at a time.”

    So don’t rest on your laurels! Get out there and find someone (closer to home). Show this one what she’s missing! :*

    • She was tired from her flight and I had a tough day at work. Lame excuse for no boom chicka wah wah, but yeah, it was nice to cuddle. As for keeping tab of costs, one of the lasses here asked in a previous post if i could itemise all my expenses (i think they were a little shocked at the $1400 price range I had calculated for 5 days)
      As for getting back on the horse… nawwww, not yet πŸ™‚ But I am actually fine though. But it’ll take a while for me to get back out there, a couple of months maybe.

  3. free penny press

    Cest la vie amigo….:-)

  4. Fight Club is a great movie.

    So how did you leave things? No more contact? Once a year fling? I hope you don’t regret giving it a go. Are you going to go back to the other girl, the one that was closer?

    • No I actually don’t regret giving it a go, and yes I told her no more contact. Then she cried, so I relelented saying that she is more than welcome to call me, but I won’t be initiating any contact on my part. So far we’ve had 1 phone call, and her gchatting me at 3am (I was logged on but passed out). I texted her in the morning and told her I wasn’t ignoring her, but had left it logged on by mistake. No response from that. And no not going back to Girl A. She and I are now friends, and I really don’t have that many close friends that I can screw them up, by well screwing them up (if ya know what I mean… *grin*)

  5. Even though it’s not going to work, I’m glad you had a nice time!

  6. So, lots of good food, lots of sex…not a total loss, then πŸ™‚ Are you crushed, though? Or, was it all good?

    • The sex was awesome. Like wow. Which is probably one of the reasons why I don’t get it. And I was crushed, and it still kinda stings but I think I’m over the whole bit where I’m required to be constantly passed out from alcohol to not crawl back to her. Huh… I must be growing as a person πŸ˜›

  7. Sorry to read it didn’t work out… at least it was a fun trip? (I hope?)

    • Fun? Course it was πŸ™‚ Did you not read the three days of non stop “boom chicka wah wah”! That doesn’t even count the days when we actually stepped out of the bedroom to do stuff but ended up in the bedroom a few hours later πŸ˜› Yes it was mucho fun πŸ™‚

  8. Shit happens. Onward and upward!

Leave a Reply

