Hello 3% raise… woohoo! I’m not sure myself if that’s sarcasm or not


Yes, you saw that right a 3% raise.

But it’s not only me, it’s a government thing. Most government employees are given this raise every year to keep in line with the Consumer Price Index (The Consumer Price Index (CPI) is a measure of changes, over time, in retail prices of a constant basket of goods and services representative of consumption expenditure by resident households in Australian metropolitan areas.)

But the one good thing about this raise is that, it is going to be backdated. Over a 7 month period. That’s 14 payslips. Then the owing amounts is to be provided in a lump sum. Suffice to say it’s turned out to be a fair bit of dosh. My next paycheque will be a total of 150% of my normal gross total. But that of course dumps me into the next tax bracket, so my net pay is actually only going to be 133% of what it would normally be, go figure.

But still that’s an extra 33% on top of my normal income coming in this pay. An extra $650. Dear god, what I could do with that money… *drools and dreams of a walrus singing of shoes and ships and sealing wax, of cabbages and kings*

But no.

I aim to be sensible.

I plan to plug at least $400 of that extra $650 into debt. And then take the $200 as splurge money. I may join a gym again. I may buy a game. I may only blow $50 and put the remainder into debt. Whatever. Mainly I can do what I want with it.

*UPDATE*

I wrote the previous paragraphs, a day before payday.

Now that I have the money, I’ve decided on what I’m splurging on.

Folks.

I’m getting a guitar.

Yup, you heard that right. I will now begin to mangle my music with my hamfisted, sausage fingered, tin eared self.

So not ONLY will you be subjected to my dating mishaps, my budget failures, my  impersonations of Jabba the Hutt with my stomach, my general facepalm moments in life… now you will also be treated to my awesomely disastrous attempts in learning how to play a guitar.

Cover your ears, lock up your children, hide your alcohol and tighten those chastity belts.

Captain Sweatpants is discovering his inner musician. 😀

15 responses to “Hello 3% raise… woohoo! I’m not sure myself if that’s sarcasm or not

  1. You should buy mine 😉

    • Oh oh oh! You play??? WOOHOOO! Another person I can thoroughly bother with my million and one guitary (guitar-esque? guitar-ish? guitar-nese?) questions! *grin* Naahh… I wouldn’t do that to you… or would I??? *shifty eyes*

  2. Awesome news! Congrats!

  3. Lucky boy. Some people are living with wage freezes 🙂 have fun with your guitar

    • Yeah, I keep forgetting the rest of the world is still reeling from the GFC and America is in the worst recession in, well ever… us Australians are kinda lucky we were very much insulated against all the fall out, not fully insulated of course, but there’s no way anyone could say that Australia’s economy is in a downward spiral.

  4. I had good hopes… until you mentioned the guitar. No seriously, good luck, wonderful instrument 🙂

  5. makingsenseofcents

    That’s great!

  6. That’s great! Splurges are needed every now and then.

  7. Certainly better then the raise I got at an old job years ago.. only 1%.. and I was only making $8/hour! So I got an 8 cent raise.. that’s like an extra dollar per year.. thanks so much employer!

  8. Well congrats on getting double MY raise! A big, fat 1.5% annual raise is our incentive to exceed expectations. Otherwise, you can forget that extra .5% and just get 1% like everyone else.

  9. I’ve read the other five post that came after this one so all I have left to say on this one is awesome.

  10. Donna Amis Davis

    Terrific plan! Thanks for the Like on my blog, and thanks for your breath of fresh air rantings and ravings. And huge congrats about halving your debt, too.

Leave a Reply

