Hello life, please hold. Your call is important to us.


I’m not sure if I’ve written about this before, I feel like I have but a quick search on the ol’ blog didn’t come up with anything. Maybe I have but I’ve just phrased it in another way.

But moving on.

Does anyone else feel like their life is on hold/pause until they’ve gotten their debt repaid? That’s what it feels like to me. And yes I know I’ve gotten a new job, and I’m looking for a new place, but I don’t know, everything else seems to just have stagnated. Maybe its just the ol’ mid-month blues, which I know I’ve talked about before. And maybe its cause I haven’t progressed much farther into my debt repayments since I started my new job.

I get paid fortnightly instead of weekly, and I’m still getting used to the new schedule and not budgeting accordingly. I’ve had to draw a bit on my debt repayment amount to actually keep on living, so I didn’t pay off all that much from my last pay-cheque and won’t be paying much off on this one either.

Right now I just wish it was 6 months in the future. I don’t want a million dollars, I don’t want a fancy car… well okay I do, but that’s not the point. I would be happy if I woke up in the morning and I had none of those things, but 6 months had passed and I stuck to my budget and I had paid off 2 of these damn cards. That would make me happy, just knowing that I’ve made some progress, right now I feel like I’m banging my head against a wall, and not only is the wall winning, it’s growing a spike right where I bang my head.

Anyways, thats my “feel sorry for myself” post for the month… LOL… who am I kidding? There will be more! MORE I SAY! Tomorrow will showcase the confusion that women, well one particular woman, is causing me.

 

6 responses to “Hello life, please hold. Your call is important to us.

  1. That’s how I feel with school! Like I’m just walking around in circles until I finish it. That mainly has to do with money, though. I’m not making any, so I can’t pay off my debt or save. Until I graduate, I can’t really expect to make more. It’s so frustrating!

    • Lets invent a time machine that will send our minds now, to 6 months (or however long your time frame is) into the future! I’ll try to find a delorean and you make the flux capacitor, laney can figure out how to get the 1.21 gigawatts of energy we need to get the flux capacitor going… everyone got that? Annnnd break!

  2. It happens sometimes. We just go into a slump. Things become mundane and we are just not excited anymore. The only thing you can really do though is stick it out. Sometimes the feeling passes on its own and other times something just sparks back the fun(like getting a huge windfall and applying it to debt or reading someones debt story). All you can do is stick it out and make sure not to make the situation any worst. It’s ok if it becomes stagnant and stays in one place for the dull period but make sure it never goes backward.

    • I think its cause I haven’t made progress this month, and everything is still in the planning stages (getting a new place, paying off debt, getting a new car) I just want to stop planning and start doing already!

  3. It’s always one thing or another that’s on pause, isn’t it? Either life or debt repayment.

    Last month I was whining that my friends don’t invite me out anymore.

    Now my friends are inviting me to TOO many things and I’m $700 over budget — which is $700 that would’ve went towards debt repayment.

    Slumps on a log, we are. Wake me up in 6 months!

    • Well laney, stop being the effervescent ray of sunshine that you are and they will stop inviting you to stuff! Or hit on their significant others, another sure fire way to stop getting invites out. Makes for an awkward conversation if they ever get married… but you can’t have it all 😛

      Note: To anyone new reading the above comment. I am not condoning cheating. That was tongue in cheek, and if you didn’t know that stop reading this blog. Right now.

Leave a Reply

