Hello budget 2.0, I think I love you even more…


It looks something like this....

So I’ve finally created a new budget for the new pay cycle and for the mucho loot that will hopefully be hitting my bank account every two weeks starting from the 15th of September.

The amounts are fairly accurate guesstimates to probably within a few 10’s of dollars (the salary calculator I’m using seems to be off), since I’m not quite sure exactly what the fortnightly pay will be yet. The number I’ve plugged in works though.

But you don’t want to hear about all that, you want the erect-nipple-inducing news as to how I will be paying off the debt.

Well being the tease I am, I won’t flash you the big fat erect wahoonie that is Budget 2.0 juuuuust yet. But here’s a rough run down.

I will be paid off completely by this time next year. Yup a whole 3 months earlier than expected on my old salary. Why only 3 months earlier when I get paid a whopping 50% extra on my previous salary? That’s because I will also have 3 months worth of emergency fund money saved up as well. Yup you heard it right, 3 months worth in case the worst happens and I get mauled by a wolverine or thrown out of a bus, or that devious Wile E. Coyote (suuuuuper genius) finally manages to get me. And that emergency fund covers absolutely all expenses I have each month, from groceries, rent, bills, phone bills, health insurance, travelling costs etc etc. So its a pretty good wad of cash 🙂

And what about moving costs? Didn’t you say you might have to move at the end of the year?

I’m glad you’re paying attention. That will mostly be covered by my tax refund, which should be a gloriously hefty sum *knock wood* that should cover moving expenses (first two weeks rent + security deposit/bond)  as well as buying new furniture as necessary.

What about suits and stuff?

Wow, seriously stop stalking my blog and dredging up the stuff I say. Its kinda creepy. But I shall answer your question nonetheless despite your creepiness, cause you’re just so darn cute. Yes I have made an $800 allowance to buy extra suits for work, this will either mean 1 REALLY nice and expensive one, or 2-3 cheaper ones. I haven’t gotten that far yet.

How about christma-

Okay, okay enough questions! Yeesh. Just take your clothes off and dance around the bonfire in glorious ecstasy to celebrate my imminent departure from the enslavement of credit card debt… *rolls eyes* Honestly… people these days.

Also while you’re doing the above, you should also ignore this camera I have in my hand. I’m shooting a documentary… yessssss… a doc..u..men…taryyyy. *shifty eyes*

10 responses to “Hello budget 2.0, I think I love you even more…

  1. LOL. You crack me up. And I forgot about your suit addiction. Obviously I am not stalking hard enough. 😉

  2. Lol. Things are looking up. Going to be an awesome journey out of debt.

  3. 3 months earlier with a 3 month e-fund!?! EXCELLENT. *holding up glass* Here’s to sticking with budget 2.0!!

  4. I can’t wait for Budget 3.1 or Budget 7 Professional Edition. It’ll probably look less like a chalkboard and more like something out of Minority Report. *uses hand motions to transfer $800 from checking to savings account*

    You forgot a few questions:

    What about that trip to Hawaii you mentioned earlier?

    Still buying a car/motorbike/hybrid truck-looking thing you Australians love?

    Most importantly, is there a coffee machine at the new job?!

  5. I’m with Lane, Professional Edition is a must!

    But seriously, kudos to you for having a plan. Now draw yourself some stick figures, slap on some captions such as “must. stay. on. budget.” or “must. slay. the. credit. card. dragon.”–with yourself as the victor of course, and post these little gems everywhere to remind yourself to keep your eyes on the prize.

    In honor of your battle, I’ve found a portion of a fight song that can also be useful in lulling yourself to sleep:

    “It’s the eye of the tiger, it’s the cream of the fight
    Risin’ up to the challenge of our rival
    And the last known survivor stalks his prey in the night
    And he’s watchin’ us all in the eye of the tiger

    Face to face, out in the heat
    Hangin’ tough, stayin’ hungry
    They stack the odds ’til we take to the street
    For we kill with the skill to survive”

    😀

Leave a Reply

