Hello future debt-free me, please don’t be a douche. Oh, and wear sunscreen.


This was inspired by a comment made on here by The Broke Sensualist on this post.

I’m not too sure why her comment triggered this particular neuron to hit that particular synapse, but I know reading her comment made this come up in my head as I was reading it.

So you know who to blame. 😉

Anyways, I was thinking when I (please please please let it happen this decade!) finally become debt free. What happens? I’m not talking about saving vs spending the money I spent on debt repayments. I’m talking about how I’m going to view other people who are in debt. How I’m going to view life through the rose-coloured of not having to worry about credit cards and having significant amounts in my savings AND my emergency fund. I would like to think I wouldn’t be a jerk and look down on those who are in still in debt. Or get so caught up in my savings that I don’t spend a penny and just hoard everything. I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t do that. I hope. Maybe.

And what about relationships?

Could I conceive being with someone who doesn’t have the money sense that I’ve had to come up with over the time I’ve been trying to become debt free? Could I be with a spender? Could I be with someone who would treat a credit card like a long-term loan?

So this post is addressed to the future me who is currently doing a happy dance cause he has no debt… now to set the mood.

First, head on over to YouTube in another tab (or window) on your web browser.

Second, Search “Everybody’s Free (To Wear Sunscreen).

Third, hit play.

Fourth, come back to this tab.

Fifth, read the rest of this post in that voice, while it plays in the background.

Or conversely you can just hit play on the video link attached.

Ready? Lets go future me!

Spend.

But do it wisely. Play with your budget like you used to while you were in debt. See your savings grow. But don’t be a Scrooge. Please don’t get all high and mighty because you’ve paid off your debt. Understand that people learn at their own pace and sometimes you have to let them make their own financial mistakes before they realise what you did, back when you started this journey. Know that while being debt free is an amazing feeling, people will have to know the feeling of being buried in debt before they understand.

Date.

You went through years of singlehood because you were ashamed of your debt, now get out there. Don’t disregard a date because she doesn’t have a plan to pay off her debt. Disregard a date because she says stuff like “But you have nothing on your credit card! So you can buy me pretty things!” Remember to not blow your money on girls, again. Yes giving gifts is a good thing, but don’t get carried away.

Learn.

Do all the things you wanted to but couldn’t afford. Buy rock climbing equipment and go. Buy scuba equipment and go. Buy a guitar and learn. Get a surfboard and drive to the beach. Buy keyboard and play. Paint. Write. Draw. Do all the things that made you happy before debt made you grow up. It’s time to grow down. Just do it within your means.

Travel.

Go to all those places you wanted to see. All those places you didn’t even know existed. All those places you didn’t think could possibly exist that actually do. Meet new people. Reconnect with old friends. Have adventures.

Drive.

Just for the fun of it, with no destination in mind. You’ve probably bought a car, or a motorbike. Or maybe both. Love it. Remember all those times you had to catch public transport, or had to walk 10km cause you blew all your money on a night out and couldn’t afford a cab and didn’t even have a car to sleep off the copious amounts of alcohol you consumed. Don’t drink and drive.

Be happy.

Stop obsessing about money, you’ve succeeded, it’s time to do other things now. Budget for a life now, as well as getting ready for the future, you’ve sacrificed two years of your life (at least) on becoming debt free, please enjoy the rest.

And remember about the sunscreen.

That’s always good advice.

10 responses to “Hello future debt-free me, please don’t be a douche. Oh, and wear sunscreen.

  1. Loved it. I’ve read everything before this on your journey so far. I wish you the best.

    That is the best advice your future self could ever get.

  2. The sunscreen thing is probably wrong. Not that you should never wear it — extended exposure to the sun would make sunscreen a good idea. But wearing it constantly combined with how rarely people spend time outside has been shown to cause problems with vitamin D deficiency. 😉

    Anyway, I’ve had this problem too. Many family members of mine used to rub their “things” in my face a few years ago. And now, they’re all in serious credit issues… short-sales, foreclosures, six-figure credit card debt, moving in to each others houses so both parties can afford the payments… etc. It is so hard for me to not be smug and point out that my debt has gone down almost $40k in the last few years… while theirs has ballooned out of control and caught up with them.

    I promise, I will not be a douche. It is just REALLY hard because they were so rude to me back before they realized the error of spending more than you make.

    • I know. It’s incredibly painful to un-douche it to people when they were douchey to you in that past. But I will be strong! Well mostly… to the douchiest of them I may rub it in a bit 😛

      Really? People don’t get sun up in America? It must be a cultural thing, I think Australians would start world war 3 if we didn’t have the chance to have some sun. Even in the winter where I live can get below 0 celsius but heaps of people are still out running. And in summer the entire country practically lives out doors, bbqs, the beach, pub gardens , the park to kick the footy around, oh and with daylight savings the sun is up till 8pm! WIN!

  3. the broke sensualist

    Firstly, I love that Baz Lurhmann song.

    Secondly, I’m happy that I’ve inspired this post! 😀

    Thirdly, I agree with everything your future self has said. I don’t think it’s douchy to be proud of your accomplishments, but like you said, you will have an understanding of what it’s like for others who are still struggling with debt. Plus, an added bonus is that you also might also inspire them to be like you and change their thinking (“If he can do it, so can I”)
    That’s a truly amazing thing!

    • Others? Like me?? … Okay… just step away from the alcohol for a minute. And consider what you just said. MORE people… who think like I do… roaming the world… without leashes… or some sort of tracking chip… OMG THE HORROR!!! *runs screaming with fear from the mental picture just created while clawing his eyes out*

  4. LOL! Great post 🙂 I love the song reference too. One of my favorites. I look forward to checking in as you dig yourself out. Keep blogging!

    • Thanks! And youre blog title… awe-wait-for-it-some! I think I’ve actually used it in a post… I can’t remember, a lot of stuff comes out of my brain that I’m completely unaware of … but *bro-fist* anyways!

  5. I recently found your blog and enjoy it . My husband was a spender when I met him, became a pay off your debt advocate while we were dating and by the time he married me and my three children(just add water and instant family) he was working hard with me to save money and get ahead.

    cut yourself some slack..get out there now and enjoy yourself a little..who knows who you will meet

    Judy

    • Ack! Uneven comment must post. How did this sneak by me? Shifty shifty Judy 😉 I had to read the sentence about you marrying him and your three kids a few times before I got it (you had 3 kids before, then you got married… right?) I was thinking… water = kids? Thats not how they taught us in Health class… 😛

Leave a Reply

